Author Topic: Helio flight training  (Read 605 times)

Kevin Dunn

Helio flight training
« on: August 16, 2017, 10:37:38 AM »
Fellow Helio enthusiasts,

As we all know, in the Lower 48 it is becoming more and more difficult to find a qualified flight instructor for type specific training in a Helio. The next hurdle is finding an airplane that someone will allow you to learn to fly, which can be impossible unless you have a really good friend. For those new to Helios who would like to own one, it pretty much means buying one, and figuring it out as you go. 

In light of that, we at S.O.A.R. are offering N6463V for rent. Cost is $350 an hour/wet/dual only. The instructor cost is also included. We are located in southwest Missouri at M17, Bolivar, MO. 

As for the instructor that would be me.  I have been flying Helios since 1995 when I went to Spartanburg, SC and trained with Larry Montgomery and staff after the mission organization I was with bought N4138D from him.  I flew in Honduras for almost 11 years before coming back to the States. I have over 800 hours of Helio time and have taught several guys to fly theirs including a couple guys that are on this forum.  They are still friends, so it seems to have gone well!

Our thought is to offer the airplane for initial training, recurrent training, Flight Reviews or just the “I have always wanted to log time in a Helio” sort of pilot.  Yes, it could be a crazy idea that bites us in the hind parts, however, we are willing to take a certain amount of risk to open up the world of Helio flying to pilots who might never have the chance.  Let’s face it, none of us do this because it makes sense, we just all have a passion for Helios and keeping them from going away.

I am also and A&P/IA and have maintained the Helios I have flown. If we can help on the maintenance side of things, we are certainly willing to do that also. 

So, if you, or someone you know is interested, have them contact me.

Kevin Dunn
417-777-6800